The Lego Batman Movie - Barney's Incorrect Five Second Reviews

The Lego Batman Movie - Barney's Incorrect Five Second Reviews Hot

http://fortressat.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x300s/c5/4b/35/the-lego-batman-movie-barney-s-incorrect-five-second-reviews-26-1487000882.jpg
Black BarneyBlack Barney   February 13, 2017  
1223  
Comments (0)

Tons of fun and laughs, and my 6-year old daughter LOVED it (wants to see it again). 

Not QUITE as good as 2014's Lego Movie but almost. I had a ton of laugh-out-loud moments along with this one other guy in the theatre (we seemed to enjoy the same jokes) and each time my girl asks me, 'what's so funny?". It's one of those movies that's perfect for adults and children alike on very different levels. Lots of really special moments (I can't explain the cinematography of lonely Batman watching lobster heating up in the microwave on a rotating plate, casting yellowish glow round and round the kitchen... it's hauntingly effective and hilarious. That scene just doesn't end too, loved it. 

The voice actors are top notch. It's amazing to hear Ralph Fiennes in a movie like this where he isn't even voicing the Voldemort character. 

As mentioned with the microwave scene, there are some scenes where the cinematography is surprisingly stunning. Quick vistas of Gotham City can be caught here and there during sundown and I wish the camera would stay on them longer. Some talented artists were at work on this one. 

It's very family-friendly overall, and the violence is super cartoonish and not cruel in anyway. Even Godzilla feels bad when he accidentally destroys something. 

I find it pretty funny that this is better than the majority of the Batman movies too (discounting Nolan's trilogy of course). No joke but this is the best DC movie in YEARS. It's Robot Chicken meets Batman. Anyone that is still suffering from that Batman v Superman abortion should watch this as therapy. 

Heart rating: 4.5 stars

Brain rating: 4 stars (I'm feeling generous here)

Posted: 13 Feb 2017 14:50 by mads b. #243863
mads b.'s Avatar
I saw this with my two eldest (8 and 4,5) and they both liked it a lot. I found both narrative and jokes quite good, but what I really liked was how much it resembled just playing with legos. From the concept of building your way out of trouble over everybody making their own gun sounds to the ridicilous ending, this just seemed very much like playing with ninjago, nexo knights, elves and lego friends on the dinner table.
Posted: 13 Feb 2017 19:57 by Vlad #243882
Vlad's Avatar
I'm so waiting forward to see it with my son. We've been re-watching Lego Movie yesterday to get in the mood.

By the way, I don't know whether I have watched this too many times or something, but Lego Movie seems to tackle some existential&religious matters. Like it pretty much explains the origin of the universe (the lego one, at least) and has a pretty much messianic arc for Emmet. Once again, I'm not sure this is by design or my mind is starting to wander off every time it is on.
Posted: 13 Feb 2017 20:10 by Black Barney #243885
Black Barney's Avatar
This is going to sound really weird but I find it more of a Batman movie than a Lego movie. They took the subject matter alarmingly seriously. Someone's a fan...
Posted: 13 Feb 2017 21:02 by Hadik #243889
Hadik's Avatar
I can't seem to stay awake at movies anymore. Was awake for the first 10 minutes. Slept for the next 20-30. Was awake for the rest of the movie. Same thing happened at Rogue One.

I did like it though! Found it to be better than the Lego movie for the very reason that it was not existential/heavy/preachy etc.
Posted: 13 Feb 2017 21:16 by Black Barney #243892
Black Barney's Avatar
I almost fell asleep too! Happens all the time during kids movies, too much flashy lights. Knocks out my retinas
Posted: 13 Feb 2017 23:43 by cranberries #243903
cranberries's Avatar
Hadik wrote:
I can't seem to stay awake at movies anymore. Was awake for the first 10 minutes. Slept for the next 20-30. Was awake for the rest of the movie. Same thing happened at Rogue One.

I did like it though! Found it to be better than the Lego movie for the very reason that it was not existential/heavy/preachy etc.

Our theater now has recliners. Someone should make a movie that consists of darkness and deeply relaxing ocean sounds. You would pay five bucks during the day, put on a sleep mask, and have two freaking hours of nap, uninterrupted.
Posted: 14 Feb 2017 09:15 by Columbob #243910
Columbob's Avatar
cranberries wrote:
Hadik wrote:
I can't seem to stay awake at movies anymore. Was awake for the first 10 minutes. Slept for the next 20-30. Was awake for the rest of the movie. Same thing happened at Rogue One.

I did like it though! Found it to be better than the Lego movie for the very reason that it was not existential/heavy/preachy etc.

Our theater now has recliners. Someone should make a movie that consists of darkness and deeply relaxing ocean sounds. You would pay five bucks during the day, put on a sleep mask, and have two freaking hours of nap, uninterrupted.

You wouldn't even need the mask what with the lights out.


BTW, Lego really went all-out with this movie - about FIFTEEN new Lego Batman sets plus the "collect them all" 24 mini-figure baggies.
Posted: 14 Feb 2017 10:28 by Grudunza #243915
Grudunza's Avatar
Saw it last night and I'm right with you, Barney. I loved it, and it almost equalled The Lego Movie. Just super entertaining and funny throughout, some great visual scenes, and a decent story.
Posted: 14 Feb 2017 11:26 by Varys #243924
Varys's Avatar
I loved it. I think I liked it more than The Lego Movie, but that's probably because I've been a Batman movie and TV show fan (more than the comics which were prohibitively more expensive) since I was a kid. There were so many Easter Eggs for the various movies and TV shows that it really clicked for me. I can see someone getting lost with all the rapid fire references, jokes, and flashing action, but I managed to hang on. I agree that this was way more a Batman movie than a Lego movie, and I think I was the perfect age target for this.
Posted: 14 Feb 2017 11:42 by airmarkus #243928
airmarkus's Avatar
I fell asleep too for about 10 minutes. I was having a hard time watching because my back was killing me, but there were several times I burst out laughing. Two parts in particular were when Batman was telling Robin kids can be cruel (don't want to give away the joke) and when they flashed back to the old 70s batman show with Batman dancing.
Posted: 14 Feb 2017 15:02 by jpat #243953
jpat's Avatar
The first forty-five minutes to an hour, I found really good and as good as the Lego Movie. When the movie goes sincere, I found it a lot less compelling than its predecessor.
Posted: 14 Feb 2017 21:05 by Michael Barnes #243973
Michael Barnes's Avatar
Loved it. Better than The LEGO Movie. Best line and most obscure reference-
Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]


Also did not expect...well, the "English" characters. All of them.

It was total anarchy, but grounded in it being an all-out, all access Batman movie. It was practically a Batman encyclopedia. And it was actually a really good Batman story! I liked that it was a complete slap in the face to all of the serious, grim superhero programming, and I liked that it was FINALLY a superhero movie suitable for small children...unlike all of the others.

Unfortunately, there is a real dark side to the movie. One of the executive producers is Steve Mnuchin, Trump's nominee for treasury secretary, a big supporter of Trump's campaign and a lying criminal like the rest of the scumbags he's putting into destructive positions. So our money here, at least some of it, is going to support these anti-American assholes. Just be aware of that.

He produced Fury Road too.
Posted: 15 Feb 2017 08:30 by Black Barney #243979
Black Barney's Avatar
You're a fun sponge. The guy produces excellent movies. It's not like refusing to see a Mel Gibson or Polanski movie

I don't think munchkin takes away from the movie at all but to make you feel better, I hereby refuse to ever again play the board game named after him. Happy?
Posted: 15 Feb 2017 11:05 by Vlad #243984
Vlad's Avatar
I picture Barnes as Rorschach. If only more people were like him, this country would be having its 2nd civil war right now instead of watching Batman Lego.

On the other hand, if this guy produced Fury Road, he can't be a bad person.

And there's no excuse for not watching Polanski - in this case the art is vastly more important than the creator, and I think watching his films (whether you like them or not - I don't like most of them, for example) is education. Ditto for Oliver Stone, even though he made a puff piece on Hugo Chavez, which is pretty despicable. Mel Gibson you can pass safely, I think.
Posted: 15 Feb 2017 11:14 by Black Barney #243986
Black Barney's Avatar
I talked about it with a close colleague at work and she agreed with Barnes, which surprised me. The guy foreclosed on peoples homes and ruined families. But it's business, so the guy is ruthless when it comes to business, i don't know how much you can dig down on his personality just based on that. Whereas Polanski is an actual criminal, and Gibson is for sure just this huge blatant racist and misogynist. I'm not saying people should see or not see their movies. I'm saying that if you're going to hold Lego Batman to a 'dark side' because of an executive producer who is a lawful businessman, I think that might be overreaching a bit.
Posted: 15 Feb 2017 12:35 by Rafael Silva #243991
Rafael Silva's Avatar
Being lawful under unfair laws is as immoral as being lawless under fair ones. Especially when you are in a position to influence public policy.
Posted: 15 Feb 2017 12:49 by Grudunza #243993
Grudunza's Avatar
At a certain point, it does get to a "well, Hitler did some nice paintings" kind of thing. But unless we know that this particular guy had an especially huge hand or influence on this or other movies, I don't see too much point in stressing about him being involved. Presumably there are major assholes involved in all kinds of shows and movies and music and businesses that we like to partake in. Shitty people are getting our money in pieces from a variety of ways, many we won't even know about. I don't begrudge pointing that out at all (this will probably happen a lot in the coming four years), but in this case it feels a bit more like a shrug, because he was an executive producer, probably among several. And yeah, it sucks, but with hundreds of others also having some investment or involvement in this movie, I'm okay with that.
Posted: 15 Feb 2017 13:29 by Southernman #243999
Southernman's Avatar
Can everyone move their crappy US political moans to the shitstorm forums (where it belongs) before it fucks up Barney's review totally.
Posted: 15 Feb 2017 19:56 by dysjunct #244023
dysjunct's Avatar
I own some stock in Time Warner, which owns DC, so you are also giving money to me. I'd like to think that cancels out Mnuchin.
Posted: 16 Feb 2017 15:50 by san il defanso #244060
san il defanso's Avatar
We saw this with our sons over the weekend. I really enjoyed it too, though I perhaps liked The Lego Movie a little more. Both movies throw so many jokes (visual or otherwise) at such a high rate that I almost had to tamp down my laughter to make sure I caught everything. I have probably seen The Lego Movie a dozen times now, so I'll probably like Batman Lego more when I've seen it at home more.

No doubt our kids will make that happen.
Posted: 18 Feb 2017 13:58 by Colorcrayons #244162
Colorcrayons's Avatar
Saw this today with the male spawn. Great flick. The jokes can be quite clever sometimes. "Hooo!"

I don't know if I'm alone in this, but I'm sure a lot of dads can relate to the interaction that occurs between the brick and batman in the phantom zone as food for thought.

Had a lot of fun and would own this own DVD.

Discussion