Everything Barney does not watch Five Second Review - Fate of the Furious 8

Everything Barney does not watch Five Second Review - Fate of the Furious 8 Hot

http://fortressat.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x300s/e1/37/9b/everything-barney-does-not-watch-five-second-review-fate-of-the-furious-8-14-1493838878.jpg
Lady KlisLady Klis   October 19, 2017  
2274  
Comments (0)

After Paul Walker "left", I was pretty sure they would stop the Fast and the Furious movies.... but I guess now with Dwayne Johnson the story will go on...

I found that this one was different, the story had an interesting twist and it was more "realistic" to a certain extent. There was very plausible use of hacking and technology which was fun to watch, and the villain of this movie was as cold as it gets. They took many elements from the previous movie so it's a good idea to watch it first if you haven't. They also put a lot of surprises that you never would have expected, and some inside jokes that you really need to follow some characters to understand.

I'm a car fan, so it's always fun when they talk about horsepower and nos, as well as when they show engine elements.

Overall a fun experience, car fan or not.

Heart Rating: 3.5

Brain Rating: 2.5 (just relax and watch the movie)

 

Posted: 10 May 2017 06:32 by stormseeker75 #248080
stormseeker75's Avatar
You've got a better chance of Barney watching GI Joe 1 or 2 than watching this. Glad you liked it, and thanks for contributing to the Fort.
Posted: 10 May 2017 08:48 by Black Barney #248082
Black Barney's Avatar
Man... if this is going to be a recurring column, I'm going to be skirmishing with Jeff White on a regular basis :)


Anyway there is NO way I'm going to go see a 2.5 star brain rating movie unless it has a baby in a suit.
Posted: 10 May 2017 08:56 by Shellhead #248083
Shellhead's Avatar
I like Vin Diesel. I have not seen any of the Fast and the Furious movies.
Posted: 10 May 2017 09:34 by Mr. White #248086
Mr. White's Avatar
I've never seen a single flick in this series.

A buddy recently watched the whole set on a business trip overseas. He claims they actually get better and better.
Posted: 10 May 2017 10:08 by barrowdown #248089
barrowdown's Avatar
I have not seen the eighth entry in the series, but my preferences would be:

5 >> 7 >> 6 > 4 > 1 >>>>> 2 >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 3

The first three films are almost a completely different franchise in terms of plot and tone.
Posted: 10 May 2017 11:54 by JonJacob #248097
OldHippy's Avatar
I've never watched a Fast and the Furious thing and probably never will but who cares... "Everything Barney Doesn't Watch" is a great idea. That leaves you tons of room... I'm anxiously awaiting your reviews on heterosexual porn.
Posted: 10 May 2017 12:22 by jpat #248101
jpat's Avatar
Five was the peak--unexpectedly, as it changes the direction of the series from movies about street racing to movies about heists that involved street racing (increasingly) incidentally. (barrowdown is incorrect in putting 3 so low. 2 Fast 2 Furious should always be dead last. Otherwise, I generally agree with the ranking.) Creatively, the series has been on a slow but noticeable decline from that peak, with 6 and 7 being (IMO) progressively weaker. Eight, which is projected as the first of a "final" trilogy, was a bit of a bummer for me because of the way in which they downplay if not outright disregard the impact of the death of a character from a previous movie (and I don't mean Brian here). The general (Tokyo) drift of the series since Five has been toward increasing invulnerability and unreality, and 8 is no exception and maybe "worse" in that respect (though that's a matter of degree; in 7 they were jumping between building towers). I've gathered that Vin and the Rock don't get along and don't do scenes together, so you see these odd situations in which two of your leads assiduously avoid each other when there's no reason in-narrative that they should.
Posted: 10 May 2017 12:22 by Msample #248102
Msample's Avatar
Mr. White wrote:
I've never seen a single flick in this series.

A buddy recently watched the whole set on a business trip overseas. He claims they actually get better and better.

I have not seen the last several, but I prefer the earlier ones. The later ones are no longer about street racing, and feature insane amounts of CGI. The last one I saw, the final chase was entirely CGI through a mining tunnel IIRC. I agree with Barrowdown in that the first three are very different. The third one especially is a bit of a one off in that it takes place in Japan with no Paul Walker and only a brief Diesel appearance at the end.

Whether you like the films or not, you have to admire a franchise that actually gets bigger and more successful as it progresses rather than grimly pumping out sequels nobody watches.
Posted: 10 May 2017 21:58 by Ancient_of_MuMu #248134
Ancient_of_MuMu's Avatar
I have a suspicion that this was written by Barney in disguise.
Posted: 10 May 2017 22:29 by jpat #248135
jpat's Avatar
As to why these keep getting made (apart from the fact that I've enjoyed them, which is probably the most important reason), domestically F8 has made over $200m, but to really get it you have to look at the worldwide (outside-US) market, where the movie's brought in so far a whopping $957m. I'm guessing F8 will finish under the $1.5b worldwide that F7 brought in, but it also had the unique element of Paul Walker's last performance in the series, and I'm not sure any studio's willing to turn down a $1b+ haul.
Posted: 10 May 2017 23:29 by Ancient_of_MuMu #248136
Ancient_of_MuMu's Avatar
jpat wrote:
As to why these keep getting made (apart from the fact that I've enjoyed them, which is probably the most important reason), domestically F8 has made over $200m, but to really get it you have to look at the worldwide (outside-US) market, where the movie's brought in so far a whopping $957m. I'm guessing F8 will finish under the $1.5b worldwide that F7 brought in, but it also had the unique element of Paul Walker's last performance in the series, and I'm not sure any studio's willing to turn down a $1b+ haul.
Same reason shitty Pirates of the Caribbean and Transformers films keep getting made. There is no story left to tell but they get a billion globally.
Posted: 11 May 2017 07:02 by Lady Klis #248139
Lady Klis's Avatar
JonJacob wrote:
I've never watched a Fast and the Furious thing and probably never will but who cares... "Everything Barney Doesn't Watch" is a great idea. That leaves you tons of room... I'm anxiously awaiting your reviews on heterosexual porn.
"I'm anxiously awaiting your review on on heterosexual porn" :) hahahahaha so awesome! Do you mean 50 shades of grey?

Discussion