October 09, 2023
2488 0
O
oliverkinne
October 06, 2023
2689 0

Outback Crossing Review

Board Game Reviews
Bugs: Recent Topics Paging, Uploading Images & Preview (11 Dec 2020)

Recent Topics paging, uploading images and preview bugs require a patch which has not yet been released.

× Talk about the latest and greatest AT, and the Classics.

Lets Talk: Cyclades / Kemet

More
11 Jul 2014 12:20 #182033 by ChristopherMD
Mmmmmmm....baked finish.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Jul 2014 12:50 #182035 by OldHippy
I haven't played Cyclades but once. Kemet I have lots of experience with though.

Kemet is super aggressive and the only people left behind in the race for points are those who don't realize this. It's a mistake you don't make twice. The game is mostly just everyone attacking anyone for whatever points they can get. You can, with clever power tile selection, play a more defensive game if you want.

I think the power tiles are the best part of the game and any analysis that doesn't include them is pretty much worthless. After all every army is identical from the get go, it's only the power tiles that differentiate them from one another.

Yes, it does almost always feel very close, but in my experience the best player usually still wins. I say usually because despite what some people think there is a small dose of luck in Kemet. A lot of it is timing though. It makes sense to me, thematically, that people are all pretty close by games end. In this way I don't see it as a fault. The only fault with it for me, and the main reason it isn't as good as Nexus Ops, is that the game gives me very little to do. With no secret objectives or different units all I can really do is attack or buy power tiles, all other activities are pretty much just things you need to do to get one of those two things done.