October 09, 2023
2291 0
O
oliverkinne
October 06, 2023
2510 0

Outback Crossing Review

Board Game Reviews
Bugs: Recent Topics Paging, Uploading Images & Preview (11 Dec 2020)

Recent Topics paging, uploading images and preview bugs require a patch which has not yet been released.

× Talk about the latest and greatest AT, and the Classics.

Gears of War Officially Out Of Print

More
30 Jan 2015 15:17 #196536 by Green Lantern
Looking forward to your article, Gary. I'm new to Gears as well but the couple of plays I have under the belt give me high hopes that this title has legs. We've finished the first mission only and we just managed to pull it off and that was in large part to a couple of well placed bolo grenades. Rules are pretty simple but the abstract movement and cover gave us fits. We had a time remembering to add in range and cover penalties when attacking/defending and using the command cards for their reaction bonuses was tricky.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Jan 2015 10:51 - 31 Jan 2015 13:31 #196589 by Gary Sax
Re: Gears.

I must admit to you all that the one big AT genre I’ve never been that into is dudes in a corridor. I like Warhammer Quest, it’s cool, but I’ve never had a need to get it again since I had it in middle school. I am NOT a fan of Descent v1, and v2 isn’t anything I enjoy particularly either. By contrast, Gears of War is awesome, the best Dudes in a Corridor game I’ve played. But it’s rough. I’ve only played about 6 games solo, on scenarios 1 and 3 I think. So don’t take this as an educated last word on it---

Awesome improvements to the genre