October 09, 2023
2291 0
O
oliverkinne
October 06, 2023
2509 0

Outback Crossing Review

Board Game Reviews
Bugs: Recent Topics Paging, Uploading Images & Preview (11 Dec 2020)

Recent Topics paging, uploading images and preview bugs require a patch which has not yet been released.

× For those who like to push chits.

A Most Dangerous Time and other Sengoku games

More
28 Sep 2016 12:18 #235094 by Erik Twice
Playing Nobunaga's Ambition has put me on the mood for a board game set in the Sengoku period. But it seems most of them are wargames or games about conquest, and I know nothing about these genres. So I turn to you guys for help.

I have very little wargaming experience, everytime I've played a wargame I've felt I understood the rules but not the actual strategy. For example, I remember playing C&C Napoleonics against Matt, and pushing my units fowards just to see them killed, while my OGRE playthroughs end up with overwhelming victories by the cybernetic tank despite its tactic being rushing the point and little else. The game I've felt more comfortable playing so far has been Hannibal: Rome versus Carthage. I was bad at it, and won one game against Matt on sheer luck but I think being strategic (As opposed to tactical) and generally more "boardgame-like" than average helped.

It's for this reason that I've been looking into A Most Dangerous Time: Japan in Chaos, 1570-1584 which looks very accessible and fun. I've read about it, and people don't think it's a bad game for new players, either. It seems people are divided on its level of "chaos" but, without having played it, it seems many are approaching the game expecting it to be something it's not. Have you played it? What do you think of it? Would it be a good fit for me, specially if I'm looking for a replayable game?