The Boss Baby - Barney's Incorrect Five Second Reviews

The Boss Baby - Barney's Incorrect Five Second Reviews Hot

http://fortressat.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x300s/6f/96/d2/the-boss-baby-barney-s-incorrect-five-second-reviews-96-1493649889.jpg
Black BarneyBlack Barney   May 01, 2017  
904  
Comments (0)

Cookies are for closers.

That line from the movie encapsulates perfectly what the experience of watching the film is like. There are some great throwback lines and sequences that will appeal to adults, while still having plenty of fun stuff for kids. My 6-yr old girl really liked it.

The first half of the movie is much better than the second half where I think it tries to bite off more than it can chew. The animation is top shelf and I was impressed and admittedly mesmerized by a few action sequences on how much fun they were.

Still pales in comparison to Lego Batman but is totally a passable movie.

Heart rating: 2.5 stars

Brain rating: 3 stars

Posted: 01 May 2017 11:10 by hotseatgames #247526
hotseatgames's Avatar
I didn't read your review. I would never watch this movie, even if my kids wanted to see it. Which they wouldn't. You are a bad person.
Posted: 01 May 2017 11:16 by Mr. White #247528
Mr. White's Avatar
+1

This movie looks like hot garbage and everything that's wrong with kids animated movie fare. This movie isn't for dumb people...it makes dumb people.

Pass with extreme prejudice.

You should have played Mario Kart with your daughter instead.
Posted: 01 May 2017 11:26 by Black Barney #247533
Black Barney's Avatar
Hey, it's no Smurfs: The Lost Village. The trailer alone made me feel like I had de-evolved.
Posted: 01 May 2017 12:00 by Legomancer #247537
Legomancer's Avatar
why
Posted: 01 May 2017 12:18 by Colorcrayons #247538
Colorcrayons's Avatar
The sprawlings wont shut up about this movie. Chalk one up to marketing. Crap wins over quality again. I saw it because of their incessant whining. God damn I hated it. Passable, maybe if I was drunk.
I feel like a horrible dad for giving in and allowing them to see this.
Posted: 01 May 2017 12:20 by quozl #247539
quozl's Avatar
It's hilarious and creative.
Posted: 01 May 2017 14:10 by Black Barney #247547
Black Barney's Avatar
Guys, i'm a pretty big critic when it comes to trash and this ISN'T it. It's 100x better than Shrek and that kind of crap. Look, it's not great nor is it really good, but it's totally OK (lol, i hope they don't put that raving quote on their posters).

Again, watch the trailer for Smurfs: Lost Village.. now THAT is one bad looking movie.

I laughed out loud several times and Emily really liked it (the fact that she strongly prefers Born in China made me love her even more).

Crayons, you really hated it? I thought it was fine. It's totally goes off the rails when they get to Vegas but up to then, it was pretty good. That action sequence in the backyard was some really good animation.
Posted: 01 May 2017 14:32 by Colorcrayons #247549
Colorcrayons's Avatar
There are good things about it, as you noted with animation and such, but I went in it expecting to not like it. The package as a whole didn't do much to sway that bias.

Plus there were a lit of jokes that were quite adult oriented, and then sanitized for younger consumption. My thoughts on that were "why bother?" They weren't clever enough to fly over their heads of the kids, so they knew they were missing out on inside jokes that adults understand, so I was left trying to dodge explanations for them. Mostly because explaining it makes it even less funny than it already isn't.

Hilarious and creative, this was not. It tried to cater to everyone and in the process, catered to no one.
Posted: 01 May 2017 15:36 by Black Barney #247554
Black Barney's Avatar
See, I thought that Shrek tried to do the exact same thing but failed much more than Boss Baby did. In Shrek, you have an oral sex joke for crying out loud.

In Lego Batman, Emily was CONSTANTLY asking me why i was laughing, but she never did in this one. So there's a way to pull it off that is seemless and appeals to both without alienating either audience.
Posted: 01 May 2017 18:17 by Vlad #247560
Vlad's Avatar
I just wanted to chip in to scold Barney for watching this movie. You're a bad man, Barney, a very bad man.
Posted: 01 May 2017 18:26 by barrowdown #247563
barrowdown's Avatar
The mini-human has not yet seen a movie, but I doubt this one would meet the criteria to be allowed for viewing.
Posted: 02 May 2017 07:52 by Black Barney #247570
Black Barney's Avatar
Emily's first movie in the theatres was Song of the Sea and nothing has held a candle to it since :(

I'm glad this movie has caused so much discussion, maybe I should take her to Smurfs this weekend just for the reaction here to how much I'll surely hate the experience
Posted: 02 May 2017 11:35 by barrowdown #247584
barrowdown's Avatar
I am actually not sure if the mini-human understands the concept of a movie at this point. She has asked about the idea before because friends or adults have mentioned them, but I do not think it stuck beyond "it's a very long video". She has only ever seen Daniel Tiger's Neighborhood segments or short form nature documentaries (10-15 minutes) so it's a decidedly foreign concept for her.

I am sure her first longer items will probably be documentaries or carefully chosen animated films (Studio Ghibli, Cartoon Saloon, stuff like that).
Posted: 07 May 2017 19:54 by vegasrobb #247964
vegasrobb's Avatar
I was surprised by how good this movie was. I had no expectations and came out thinking about purchasing a copy when it comes out on video.

Sadly, the next day I ended up seeing Smurfs. Wow, that was such a bad movie. Zero expectations there as well.
Posted: 07 May 2017 20:53 by Black Barney #247966
Black Barney's Avatar
Thanks Robb for the warning. There were no new movies this weekend so I was at great risk of taking Emily to see Smurfs but she had a bad dry cough so we mostly stayed home.

Sounds like I got lucky maybe

Discussion