October 09, 2023
2291 0
O
oliverkinne
October 06, 2023
2509 0

Outback Crossing Review

Board Game Reviews
Bugs: Recent Topics Paging, Uploading Images & Preview (11 Dec 2020)

Recent Topics paging, uploading images and preview bugs require a patch which has not yet been released.

× Talk about other nerd culture stuff in here.

What PLAYER ONES are you READYING?

More
08 Mar 2018 13:32 #265060 by Legomancer
I am a child of the 80s. I graduated high school in '86, putting me in peak 80s mindset. Star Wars hit in '77, as I was 9, and it was absolutely my jam. I had a C64, I rode my bike to the grocery to play Asteroids, I got laid listening to Depeche Mode and The Police. I played D&D, I memorized Monty Python, I had a Doctor Who scarf (my sister crocheted for me).

Yet by the time Ready Player One came out, Geek "Culture" had long passed me by. As much love as I have for elements from my childhood, as much as I still listen to mixtapes I made in 1985 and re-read the 1978 Godzilla comics from Marvel, the fetishization of not only that time period but of fandom itself had alienated me to the point where I wondered if playing video games, playing board games, owning tons of Lego (I keep meaning to pick up again) and re-watching Dune (1984) even still qualified me as a nerd. It seemed like a book equivalent of a two-things shirt, a bunch of thrown out references disguised as a plot. It didn't seem like something I'd be interested in, so I gave it a pass and didn't think much about it, except when others would tell me I should read it.

Of course, the movie is coming out now and everyone is abuzz about it. My curated Twitter feed mostly consists of backlash against it, such so that it's weird because I don't see anyone actually standing up for it, so it seems like just a big dogpile. I know I have one friend who's mad about all the RPO hate as he thought it was a fun read and feels that the "just a list of references" criticism is tired and lazy.