October 09, 2023
2624 0
O
oliverkinne
October 06, 2023
2817 0

Outback Crossing Review

Board Game Reviews
Bugs: Recent Topics Paging, Uploading Images & Preview (11 Dec 2020)

Recent Topics paging, uploading images and preview bugs require a patch which has not yet been released.

× Painting Minis, Print & Play and Other Creative Type Stuff.

Painting Space Hulk Quickly - Genestealers

More
21 Apr 2010 00:12 - 21 Apr 2010 08:35 #60486 by Mr. White
So, in the what minis are you painting thread there are a few folks trying to get through their Space Hulk sets. Since I'm in the process of painting up a set for a buddy when he gets back from Iraq, I thought I'd share some quick, easy tips to get this thing done.

First, the materials. I don't mix paints, so forget all those ratios you read about in White Dwarf. Also, any brushes will do. I've been using the same brushes for nearly 15 years, and over half of them are 'craft' brushes from your local hobby shop. I don't even use 'real' primer anymore, but house/auto primer from Home Depot or Lowes. Way cheaper. You can use any substitute for the paint colors I provide below, but if you don't have the new GW washes you are doing it wrong. These puppies have the perfect mix for quick shading. Gone are the days of using woodstain (the dip) or miraclewash (paint mixed with future floor wash). GW has found the perfect mix for washing with. Ignore Army Painter materials it's simply overpriced woodstain for suckers.

I prefer the grey primer on the right, but my Home Depot doesn't carry it anymore. For this project, I'm using the grey auto primer on the left.

The eight colors you will need are (from top left): Shadow Grey, Space Wolf Grey,
Sunburst Yellow, Blood Red, Skull White, Chaos Black, Codex Grey, Mithril Silver, and the washes Badab Black and Gryphon Sepia (not pictured - sorry!).

Three step process. I don't have time for more than that.

STEP 1 - PRIMER.