October 09, 2023
2523 0
O
oliverkinne
October 06, 2023
2724 0

Outback Crossing Review

Board Game Reviews
Bugs: Recent Topics Paging, Uploading Images & Preview (11 Dec 2020)

Recent Topics paging, uploading images and preview bugs require a patch which has not yet been released.

× A place to talk about stuff that doesn't belong anywhere else.

The Ultimate in Justification

More
24 Nov 2015 12:02 #215823 by OldHippy
I am an expert in justification. I have found ways to validate things I do that should have no need to be validated at all. For some strange reason it helps me to stay motivated so I thought I could share some tips with you.

I'll start with music.

I have a job. I don't particularly like it but I don't hate it either. I give it a tepid seven. That said everyone who knows me knows that my life's passion has been music and poetry... so songwriting I suppose. I work with lots of 'professional' musicians, which generally just means that is all they do for a living. Something I used to do but when I wanted a family and a house I gave it up to go work for the big guys who could afford to pay me what I wanted plus benefits. But I still take myself seriously as a songwriter. I'm so fucking arrogant that I honestly believe that I'm the best songwriter in the city. It doesn't matter if it's true, put me in a lie detector test and I will pass it. That's how sure I am.

Part of what I think makes me so good is my unique perspective. Most songwriters I know do it full time. The travel the country writing their songs and play to some kind of audience every night.

Look, everything you do effects who you are. Those songwriters have a perspective they write from and it is partly informed by the lifestyle they live. This goes for all professional musicians/songwriters. Their experience informs their creativity. So a working family man writing songs will, by default, write different songs. I think that my songs have a place because of that.